The Community Library
May 13 @ 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
“Brood” with Jackie Polzin @ The Community Library
6:00 pm
Join us for a conversation with Jackie Polzin, author of the new novel, “Brood.” Polzin is being hailed as an exquisite new literary voice–wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout. Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined. Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing. Polzin will be in conversation with Martha Williams, the Library’s programs and education manager. Jackie Polzin lives in St. Paul, Minnesota with her husband and children. She is a graduate of the Boise State MFA program. Brood is her first novel.
The Community Library
May 20 @ 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
“The Inferno Lessons” Outdoor Poetry Reading with Andy Kerstetter @ The Community Library
6:00 pm
Join The Community Library for a reading and conversation with local poet Andy Kerstetter about his new collection, “The Inferno Lessons,” published in 2020 by Kattywompus Press. The collection explores aging, illness, and our relationship with nature and our own bodies, among other themes. The reading will be held outdoors on the Library’s 4th Street Lawn. Bring your low back chairs, a blanket, or find a perch around the lawn. If the weather doesn’t cooperate, the outdoor event will be canceled and you’ll be able to join us for the reading and conversation on the Library’s Livestream. Born and raised in rural Pennsylvania, Andy Kerstetter moved to the Mountain West shortly after earning a degree in writing from Geneva College in 2010. He spent nearly a decade working as a journalist for newspapers and magazines, while always pursuing his love of poetry. His poems have appeared in several journals, and The Inferno Lessons is his first published collection. He has lived in Ketchum since 2015.

Use this calendar to find out what is happening in and around Sun Valley, Idaho and the entire Wood River Valley, including Ketchum and Hailey, plus...