“Brood” with Jackie Polzin

Thu, May 13th, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
May
13
Thu

6:00pm - 7:00pm

5 weeks ago

The Community Library

The Community Library
208-726-3493

Join us for a conversation with Jackie Polzin, author of the new novel, “Brood.” Polzin is being hailed as an exquisite new literary voice–wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout.

Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing.

Polzin will be in conversation with Martha Williams, the Library’s programs and education manager.

Jackie Polzin lives in St. Paul, Minnesota with her husband and children. She is a graduate of the Boise State MFA program. Brood is her first novel.

Share this Event